Amendments to the Energy Savings Scheme Rule that commenced on 14 April 2023 introduced new fuels to the ESS. Fuel types now include:

  • electricity
  • gas – natural gas or liquefied petroleum gas
  • diesel – petroleum-based fuel as defined in the Biofuels Act 2007
  • biomass – organic matter other than fossilised organic matter
  • biogas – gaseous fuel derived or recovered from biomass
  • biofuels – liquid fuel from biomass, including biodiesel and ethanol
  • on-site renewable fuels – energy generated from a recognised energy savings activity at the site at which it is used, such as solar and wind.

See the ESS fuel switching page for information about switching between different fuels.